event photo

CCPS wished 23 employees a happy retirement this month with celebrations, gifts and heartfelt well wishes from colleagues and friends.

In honor of their service to students, a donation in each retiree’s name was made to Imagination Library, a program which provides a free, age-appropriate book every month to any child in Caroline County, from the time they are born through the age of five. Each individual $50 donation will cover the cost of providing two children with monthly books for one year. With 23 retirees, the total amount of the donation was $1,150.

Retiring school staff were honored at their respective schools; those serving in a districtwide capacity were honored at a reception at Cow Barn Events in Ridgely.

In welcoming guests to the reception, Board of Education President Rick Barton said that retirement is a new adventure to be embraced. Superintendent Derek L. Simmons noted that the Central Office and administrative retirees represented 146 years of institutional knowledge and experience. “We will miss them as a daily part of many of our lives,” he said, “and no doubt the district as a whole will feel the loss of their presence.” 

Each of the retirees’ direct supervisors introduced them, shared memories, and expressed appreciation for their contributions to students, families, and colleagues over the course of their careers. Dr. Simmons presented each of them with original artwork print, specifically created for CCPS, that identified school locations in a county map outline. Remarks were also given by former Assistant Superintendent Milton Nagel. He touched on his appreciation for all the retirees but particularly focused on Ruth Miller who he had hired 30 years ago, followed by many years of working closely together.

All event photos may be found on the CCPS Flickr page.

2023 Retirees

Name - Position - Current Location - Years of Service in Caroline

William Q. Allen, Jr - Supervisor CO - 34
Elizabeth K. Anthony - Director CO - 32
Mary J. Clark - Teacher NCHS - 34
Diana B. Cohee - Secretary PES - 30
Kimberly E. Ballance - Teacher LMS - 30
Tearesa L. French -Supervisor - FSC - 28
Amy E. Geisel -Teacher FES-  32
Cynthia K. Harrison - Tech. Facilitator GES - 26
Ronald L. Gray - Head Custodian GES - 10
Trina L. Honer - Teacher LMS - 34
Barbara L. Koeneke - Instructional Asst. PES - 14
Wanda T. Lake - Child Dev. Asst. FJC - 19
William Meise - Custodian CRHS - 12
Kenda T. Meredith - Family Advocate FJC - 26
Ruth E. Miller - Fiscal Specialist CO - 50
Mary K. Rosebrock Bus Driver SSC 35
Susan W. Skelton Teacher CRHS 24
Pamela Slaughenhoupt - Teacher PES - 40
Dawn G. Swann - Principal GES - 34
Melvin L. Trice - Custodian RES - 18
Donna L. Wahl - Custodian CRMS - 24
Tammy L. Wetterau - Teacher LMS - 37
Lisa B. Williams - Teacher FES - 19