Three Caroline Students Named First-Time or Renewed Carson Scholars


<< Back to CCPS News

Abby Beauchemin, 5th grader at Greensboro Elementary School, has been named a first-time Carson Scholar for 2022. The award is earned by students who demonstrate the highest standards of academic achievement, integrity, civic and social responsibility.

In addition, Christian Lahnemann, 8th grader at Lockerman Middle School, and Mia Amador, 12th grader at North Caroline High School and recent graduate, were named Recognized Carson Scholars for 2022. This designation means they are previous winners who have successfully renewed their status by maintaining high academic standards and a strong commitment to their communities.

At the June Board of Education meeting, Abby and Christian were recognized for their outstanding achievement. Principals Dawn Swann and Jon Grow were both on hand to offer their congratulations.

The Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4-11 who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities. Scholarship winners receive the honor of being named “Carson Scholars” and are awarded an Olympic-sized medal and a trophy for their school to celebrate their accomplishments. Previous winners of Carson Scholarships are eligible to reapply for Carson Scholar Recognition annually.