Student Representatives to the Board Recognized


<< Back to CCPS News

At the May board of education work session, student representatives Zahid Ashraf from Colonel Richardson High School and Zachary O’Brien from North Caroline High School were recognized by the Board for their outstanding service to the Caroline County Board of Education during the 2021-2022 school year.

Superintendent Dr. Derek L. Simmons thanked the students for representing not only their own school but also the elementary and middle feeder schools. “You’ve both set a very high bar for those that follow you,” he said.

It is the policy of the Caroline County Board of Education to have two non-voting student representatives, each representing their high school at meetings throughout the school year. Students are chosen according to the practices of their individual schools, and are responsible for providing information about activities and events occurring at their school and the elementary and middle schools in their area.