Special Education Students & Families Show Staff Appreciation


<< Back to CCPS News

CCPS Special Education staff held their annual Staff Appreciation Event, sponsored by the Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee (SECAC), by surprising honored employees at their school locations.

Families were asked to nominate one CCPS employee who made a positive impact on their student with special needs during the past year. Among those recognized were special education and regular classroom teachers, instructional assistants, and administrators. Honorees (listed below) received balloons, a plaque with a special message, and a gift certificate, generously donated by area businesses.

All photos are available on the CCPS Flickr page.

Thank you to our generous community partners for their donations:
Auto Zone, Bargain Beverage, Big Lots, Blough’s Seafood, Bullocks, China House, Chipotle, Clayton Farms, Denton Diner, Denton Pizza Company, Dominos, Dunkin Donuts, Earth Tones Cafe, Easton Cinemas, Endless Tanning, Federalsburg Diner, Food Lion, Giant, Harris Teeter, Harvest Ridge Winery, Head Waters Grille, Henry’s Nails, Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay, In Japan, JP Automotive, Kate Mae’s, Kim’s Nails, Kinnamon’s Service, La Delizia Pizza, Michaels, Panera Bread, Perfect Touch Hair Design, PetCo, Pizza Empire, Planet Fitness, Preston Ford, SafeHouse, Reflexology, Ridgely Pizza & Pasta, Royal Farms, Shore Gourmet, Starbucks, Sugar Coated Nails, Target, Tenchi Mexican Restaurant, TNT Jewelers, Tuckahoe State Park, Walmart, What’s New Shop, World’s Nails, and YMCA,


Denton Elementary
Laura Christ
Brad Oberdorf
Tonya Strunk
Susan Leonard
Rachel Massoni
Jamie Lusk

Federalsburg Elementary
Susan Irwin
Krista Bennett

Greensboro Elementary
Erin Alexander
Danielle Gravelle
Bryanne Cahall
Stacy Neal

Preston Elementary
Kathy Judy
Shaugnessy Harris
Emily Phillips
June Higgins
Kendel Gowe
Ridgely Elementary
Jameyra Finney

Colonel Richardson Middle School
Kristine Neville

Lockerman Middle School
Jesse Michaluk

Colonel Richardson High
Dorothy Cabrera
Erin Moore
Kara Henry
Leo Saffran
Kristine Neville

North Caroline High
Mary Baker
Keri Marshall
Melissa Mahoney
Josh Holt
Barbara Wood