Shawn Parks Named 2019-2020 Caroline Teacher of the Year


<< Back to CCPS News

Lockerman Middle School (LMS) teacher Shawn Parks was named 2019-2020 Caroline County Public Schools Teacher of the Year at the annual reception in Denton.

Shawn has been a Language Arts teacher at Lockerman since 1999. She also taught there from 1987 through 1994 when the school was named Riverview Middle. She has served as an advisor to many student clubs at Lockerman and as a tennis team coach at North Caroline High School.

Shawn currently serves on the LMS School Improvement Team, and has served on the Peer Collaborative Team, the Action Leadership Team, and as chair of the Positive Behavioral and Intervention Supports (PBIS) team member and chairperson. She has also been a teacher mentor and grade team leader.

In addition to regularly attending professional development opportunities, Shawn has also been a presenter at the Caroline Essentials for Learning Family Night, Maryland Assessment Group Conferences, Maryland State Department of Education meetings and webinars, and PBIS Conferences.

The day after the reception, Shawn was surprised by Superintendent Patricia Saelens and Assistant Superintendent Milton Nagel who came to share the good news with some of Shawn’s students and present her with a bouquet of roses.

The 2019 Caroline Teacher of the Year was chosen from among a group of exceptional finalists:

  • Amy Bauman – Denton Elementary, 3rd Grade
  • Kurt Plinke – North Caroline High School, Art
  • Amy Riley – Ridgely Elementary, Kindergarten
  • Isa Sheldon – Greensboro Elementary, 5th Grade
  • Alyson Trout – Colonel Richardson, Music
  • Christine Wright-Gadow, Caroline Career & Technology Center, Cosmetology

This year’s judging committee, comprised of former Caroline County Teachers of the Year Lindsay McCormick, Cheri Nier, and Marcia Porter, Director of Schools Susan McCandless and Supervisor of Human Resources Debbie Siachos, reviewed and scored all nomination packets to determine the finalists. The committee then interviewed the finalists to choose the teacher of the year.

Ms. Parks will go on to represent Caroline County in the Maryland State Department of Education Teacher of the Year program.

Photos from the event can be found on the CCPS Flickr page.