School Retirees Honored for Their Service


<< Back to CCPS News

Schools bid farewell to 21 staff members at the close of the school year. They were each celebrated at their individual schools with gifts and recognitions from their colleagues.

In honor of their service to students, a donation in each retiree’s name is being made to Imagination Library, a program which provides a free, age-appropriate book every month to any child in Caroline County, from the time they are born through the age of five. Each individual $50 donation will cover the cost of providing two children with monthly books for one year.

Retirees serving in a districtwide capacity were recognized at a retirement event in June. They were also included in the Imagination Library donation.

Interim Superintendent Derek Simmons said, “These individuals represent a collective 492 years of service to Caroline students, staff, and community. However, a better measure of their time with us would be number of lives they’ve touched and the memories they’ll cherish. We wish them all the best in their next adventures.”

“It’s our pleasure to honor this dedicated group of people with a donation to a cause that benefits Caroline children,” stated Board President Jim Newcomb. “It’s fitting that after dedicating so many years to shaping the future, their work continues through this donation that helps prepare our youngest learners for school.”

2021 School Retirees

Name, Position, School, Years of Service
Jonathan Benson – Teacher, FES 35
Melanie Brittingham – Teacher, NCHS 15
Crystal Callaghan – Teacher, DES 27
Gerald Card – Teacher, NCHS 23
Elizabeth Coxon – Teacher, DES 12
Linda Dodd Head – Custodian, CCTC 15
Debora Eaton – Cafeteria Worker, NCHS 13
Emily Edwards – Teacher, PES 30
Connie Eskridge – Bus Driver 15
John George – Custodian, FES 13
June Higgins – Speech Pathologist, FES 36
Sharon Hollingsworth – Secretary, NCHS 33
Christina Johnson – Teacher, PES 29
Sally Lockler – Teacher, GES 10
Patsy McClellan – Teacher, DES 17
Deborah Melvin – Teacher, GES 36
Maggie Petrick – Secretary, GES 15
Marjorie Scott – Teacher, CRHS 38
Shirley Smith – Teacher, GES 23
Dwain Thomas – Teacher, GES 36
Peggy Warfield, LPN, FES 21