Four Caroline Students Named First-Time or Renewed Carson Scholars


<< Back to CCPS News

Lucy Howard, 5th grader at Ridgely Elementary School, and Maura Porter, 5th grader at Greensboro Elementary School, have been named first-time Carson Scholars for 2021. The award is earned by students who demonstrate the highest standards of academic achievement, integrity, civic and social responsibility.

In addition, Christian Lahnemann, 7th grader at Lockerman Middle School, and Mia Amador, 11th grader at North Caroline High School, have been named Recognized Carson Scholars for 2021. This designation means they are previous winners who have successfully renewed their status by maintaining high academic standards and a strong commitment to their communities.

At the April Board of Education meeting, all four students were recognized for their outstanding achievement.

The Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4-11 who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities. Scholarship winners receive the honor of being named “Carson Scholars” and are awarded an Olympic-sized medal and a trophy for their school to celebrate their accomplishments. Previous winners of Carson Scholarships are eligible to reapply for Carson Scholar Recognition annually.