Caroline Chapter of Maryland Omicron Awards Scholarships


<< Back to CCPS News

In June, members of the Caroline Chapter of the Maryland Omicron presented scholarships to two Caroline seniors and one CCPS staff member.

The Jane Harris Nashold Memorial Scholarship for graduates pursing a degree in education was awarded to:

  • Mackenzie Covey, Colonel Richardson High School, attending Salisbury University for early childhood/elementary education
  • Sam Harper, North Caroline High School, attending St. Mary’s College for science – secondary education.

The Barbara Cook Honorary Instructional Scholarship for a Caroline County Instructional Assistants or other non-certified teacher working toward an education degree was awarded to:

  • Kevin Reyes-Leiva, an instructional assistant at Greensboro Elementary who graduated this spring from Liberty University and is pursuing a career as an elementary teacher

Although schools were unable to hold traditional senior awards nights, the three awards were given safely as Omicron sisters conducted a car parade by each recipients’ house, ending with a presentation of balloons, certificates, and well wishes.

The Caroline Chapter of Maryland Omicron sisters are a group of women educators from and involved with Caroline County, supporting CCPS students and support staff through scholarships and other altruistic activities.