Caroline Announces 2021-2022 Teacher & Support Employee of the Year


<< Back to CCPS News

Michelle Foster has been named the 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year, and Penny Boyd  the 2021-2022 Support Employee of the Year for Caroline County.

Both announcements were made during surprise visits to each recipient’s school. Interim Superintendent Derek Simmons stated, “We are so pleased to be able to recognize the dedication and hard work of both Ms. Foster and Ms. Boyd. They are exceptional people that give their best to our students, and we are proud to have them represent Caroline County.”

Teacher and Support Employee of the Year both receive checks in the amount of $2021, along with a gift basket and gift certificate.

2021-2022 Teacher of the Year Michelle Foster

Colonel Richardson High School English teacher Michelle Foster began her teaching career with CCPS in 1998. She was an English teacher at North Caroline High School until 2012 when she made the move to media center specialist. In 2018, Michelle returned to teaching English at Colonel Richardson High School.

Her nomination stated, “Ms. Foster makes learning fun, rigorous, and meaningful for her students. Her classroom is full of laughter, learning, discussion, music, dancing, reading, and writing! Her love of teaching is evident in her daily interactions with students and staff.”

This year’s nominations resulted in three exceptional finalists. The judging committee reviewed and scored all nomination packets to determine the finalists, which included Andrew Buffenmyer, North Caroline High School, and Faith Burton, Ridgely Elementary School. Interviews were then conducted to choose the teacher of the year.

Ms. Foster will go on to represent Caroline County in the Maryland State Department of Education Teacher of the Year program.

2021-2022 Support Employee of the Year Penny Boyd

Ms. Boyd Is the cafeteria manager at North Caroline High School. She began her career with CCPS in 1999, assigned to the cafeteria staff at North Caroline High School. In 2013, Ms. Boyd was named cafeteria manager.

Her nomination stated, “I am in awe of the hard work that Ms. Boyd’s team does and am so impressed that she always has a smile on her face in spite of the stressful and demanding task of feeding the community and preparing meals for staff.”

As with the Teacher of the Year award, support employees also had a high number of nominations. In addition to Ms. Boyd, two exceptional finalists were chosen – Leon Bivens, courier for CCPS, and Linette Hopkins, special education instructional assistant at Lockerman Middle School.