Board Awards Aspiring Teacher Scholarships


<< Back to CCPS News

At their May work session, the Caroline County Board of Education awarded Aspiring Teacher Scholarships to four Caroline students:

  • Hayden Jackson – North Caroline High School
    Hayden plans to major in Early Childhood Elementary Education at Chesapeake and eventually transfer to Frostburg State.
  • Jayda Omohundra – Colonel Richardson High School
    Jayda plans to major in Elementary Education at Chesapeake College.
  • Alexis Lambert – North Caroline High School
    Alexis plans to major in Elementary Education at Chesapeake College and eventually transfer to Salisbury University.
  • Tamya Speller – Colonel Richardson High School
    Tamya plans to major in Mathematics Education.

In 2015, the Board established the Aspiring Teachers Scholarship to assist CCPS graduates in obtaining a four-year degree in the field of teacher education, along with eligibility for a teaching certificate in Maryland at the conclusion of that degree. Along with ‘growing our own’ teachers, the Board’s intent was to encourage diversity in the teaching staff and address needs in declared critical shortage areas.

The annual award to each student is a $5,000 renewable four-year scholarship. Continued eligibility is based on continuing with an education major, obtaining a scholarship, accepting an employment offer if made by CCPS, and teaching for a minimum of two years.

President Jim Newcomb congratulated students and said he looked forward to welcoming them back to Caroline County Public Schools as employees.